Print this page


School of Music

College of the Arts and Media 

Dr. Eric Hoy Tucker, Director

162 Music, 989-774-3281

James Batcheller, D.A., Band

Jay C. Batzner, D.M.A., Electro-Acoustic Music

Bruce Bonnell, D.M.A., Horn

Keith Clifton, Ph.D., Musicology

Mark Cox, D.M.A., Tuba and Euphonium

Steven L. Egler, D.M.A., Organ

Edward Fedewa, M.M., Double bass

James Fiste, D.M.A., Violoncello

Alan Gumm, Ph.D., Music Education

Scott Harding, Ph.D., Theory

Robert Lindahl, D.M.A., Trombone

José Maúrtua, D.M.A., Theory

Mary Beth Minnis, M.M., Bassoon, Assistant Director

John Nichol, M.M., Saxophone

Rob Smith, M.M., Jazz Studies

Eric Hoy Tucker, D.M.A., Voice

Joanna Cowan White, D.M.A., Flute

Kennen White, D.M.A., Clarinet

Adrienne Wiley, D.M.A., Piano Pedagogy


The School of Music is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Music. Thirty-six full-time and nine part-time faculty teach all specializations in the field of music. The faculty’s reputation as outstanding performers, conductors, composers, and— most importantly—educators, is known throughout the nation. Students in the school immediately sense an unyielding commitment on the part of each faculty member to outstanding musical education.

Course Designator:

MUS - Music

The Programs:

Master of Music (M.M.) with concentrations in Composition, Conducting, Music Education, and Performance.

Applied Music (Private Instruction)

Students may earn credit for private instruction in the various areas of applied music as follows:

Curriculum In Each Area Hours Credit Applicable Toward Graduation Maximum Hours
Master of Music 1-8 8
Master of Arts
(Music concentration)
1-2 4

There is a special fee of $40.00 for one-credit-hour lessons and $75.00 for two- and four-credit-hour lessons. This fee is in addition to the regular tuition fees.