Print this page


Department of Teacher Education and Professional Development

College of Education and Human Services

Dr. Kathryn Dirkin, Chair

421 EHS Building, 989-774-3975

Abalo Adewui, Ed.D., curriculum and instruction

Lorraine Berak, Ph.D., educational administration, labor and industrial relations

Meghan Block, Ph.D., literacy

Timothy Brannan, Ph.D., educational technology

Shane Cavanaugh, Ph.D., educational psychology

Natalia Collins, Ph.D., educational psychology

Michael DeSchryver, Ph.D., Educational Psychology/Educational Technology

Kathryn Dirkin, Ph.D., educational technology

Raymond Francis, Ed.D., curriculum and instruction/emphasis in clinical supervision

Troy Hicks, Ph.D., curriculum, teaching, and educational policy

Tamara Jetton, Ph.D., curriculum and instruction

William Leibfritz, Ph.D., elementary mathematics

Xiaoping Li, Ed.D., literacy education

James McDonald, Ph.D., science education

Kathleen Moxley, Ph.D., teaching, curriculum, and educational policy language and literacy

Krystyna Nowak-Fabrykowski, Ph .D., early childhood

Elizabeth VanDeusen-MacLeod, Ph.D., reading education

Jennifer Weible, Ph.D., learning, design, and technology

Mingyuan Zhang, Ed.D., elementary education

Course Designators:

ECE - Early Childhood Education

EDU - Teacher Education

MLE - Middle Level Education

The Programs:

The Department of Teacher Education and Professional Development offers four graduate degrees:

Graduate Certificate in Learning, Design, and Technology

Master of Arts (M.A.) in Learning, Design, and Technology

Master of Arts (M.A.) in Reading and Literacy (K-12)

Master of Arts (M.A.) in Teacher Leadership

Doctor of Educational Technology (D.E.T)

An interdisciplinary program is also offered:

Master of Arts in Education (Interdisciplinary)

Guide sheets specifying requirements, general elective courses, and other information for all the department's Master of Arts programs may be obtained from 421 EHS Building or on the department website.